Anne Waiguru addressing residents of Kirinyaga during her Meet The People Tour.
Anne Waiguru addressing residents of Kirinyaga during her Meet The People Tour.

Preliminary results indicate that Kirinyaga governorship aspirant Anne Waiguru was on course to win the Jubilee ticket for the Kirinyaga governorship race.

Results show that Waiguru was already leading in the four constituencies of Ndia, Mwea, Kirinyaga Central and Gichugu Constituencies ahead of her rivals Joseph Ndathi and Gachoki Gitari and Eliud Wanjao.

Out of the 29 polling stations whose results had been tallied, Waiguru had attained a 63 per cent lead with 6,050 followed by Gachoki Gitari at 1,791 and Governor Ndathi at 1,018. Eliud Wanjao was fourth with 818 votes.

In Ndia, results from Kiambwe Youth Polytechnic, Kiburu, Kiine Primary, Mutitu, Chema CF, Kiangwaci, Ragati, Kinya Kiiru, Karingaini and KAG Church Kiandai polling stations showed Waiguru on the lead with 2,127 votes against Gachoki’s 522 and Ndathi’s 301.

In Mwea, votes from Murinduko Primary, Good Samaritan, Nyaga Primary, Karira Primary, Kinyaga Primary, Ngurubani Primary, Wamumu, Kadawa, Ichang’i and Rukanga Primary places Waiguru on the lead with 3,178 votes, against Ndathi’s 458, and Gachoki’s 231 votes.

In Kirinyaga Central, only 3 polling stations (St Joseph’s, Kagumo CCM and Rutui CF) had been tallied with Gachoki leading by 628 votes against Waiguru’s 449 votes, and Ndathi’s 119.

In Gichugu, results from four polling stations (Kimunye Tea factory, Riakithiga Dispensary, Rwambiti and Thaita TBC) had been tallied with Gachoki getting 410 against Waiguru’s 306 votes and Ndathi’s 140.

The nominations, which were marred by chaos over lack of enough ballot papers and rigging claims, were cancelled Friday evening with Jubilee Secretariat apologising for the disorganisation.

The process will be repeated on Monday, April 24, 2017.